If your dealership is planning to hire teenagers to fill summer positions there are several Federal and State requirements you should keep in mind: Federal Teen Driving Requirements.The 1998 Drive for Teen Employment Act addresses the workplace driving privileges of teens.Under federal law, 17-year-olds may engage in limited driving on public roads and 16-year-olds, if they hold a valid state driver’s license, may drive on private property, such as a dealership lot, while working.A 17-year-old must: ·Hold a valid state driver’s license; ·Have completed a state-approved driver education course; ·Be instructed that seat belts must be worn (it’s a good idea to have them sign a statement to this effect at time of hire); and ·Have no moving violations on his/her driving record at time of hire. In addition, the vehicle a 17-year-old drives cannot weigh more than 6,000 pounds and cannot be used for towing.All driving is limited to daylight hours.Supervisors must ensure there is ample time for 17-year-olds to complete their trip during daylight hours.Also, 17-year-olds may not drive in excess of one-third of each workday or one-fifth of each workweek.Vehicle occupancy is limited to three passengers and the transport of non-employee passengers is limited to two trips per day.Licensed 16-year-olds may not drive on public roads as part of their employment.Violations of the Drive for Teen Employment Act are subject to a $10,000 penalty per violation. New Jersey Child Labor Law.If your dealership hires students for summer employment, be aware that under New Jersey’s Child Labor Law there are limits to the number of hours and the time of day they can work, depending on the type of job involved and the worker’s age. Workers under age 18 must receive a 30-minute meal period after five consecutive hours of employment.They also need to obtain working papers or a work certificate from their local school district (they must apply in person). Additionally, workers under age 18 cannot work at jobs that require the use of power-driven machinery, such as lawn mowers, grinders and buffers.Businesses employing minors are also required to display a copy of the New Jersey Child Labor Law Abstract, as well as a schedule of hours worked.